Some recommended reading and thoughts for the day…


Life in marketing.

I know I said I would talk more about measurement in this post. However, on the train this morning I was reading “The New Rules of Marketing & PR” by David Meerman Scott and I found a couple of ideas that I think you can really benefit from. 

I have no affiliation with the publisher or author of this book, and I’m not being paid or receiving any type of compensation, but these ideas rang so true to me that I had to share.

This list contains direct quotes from the book:

  • People want authenticity, not spin.
  • People want participation, not propaganda.
  • PR is not about your boss seeing your company on TV, it’s about buyers seeing your company on the web.
  • Marketing is not about your agency winning awards. It’s about your organization winning business.
  • Blogs, online video, ebooks, news releases, and other forms of online content let organizers communicate directly with buyers in a form they appreciate.
  • Content drives action.

That’s the end of direct quotes.  The idea about content driving action is so critical in my opinion. I’ll write more about it in the future, but I can’t stress enough how important it is to constantly generate fresh, engaging and relevant content. When your website gets stale, customers will start looking through the fridge for something a little fresher.

Another great point is the idea that  PR and marketing are not about winning an award or getting on TV.  It’s about driving people to some kind of action.  The beauty of online marketing is that you can track where people click, what they are interested in, how long they looked at something, all kinds of stuff.  Try doing that with TV or direct mail.

Does this shit work on anybody?

Here's the pitch boss...anybody who doesn't use our product is gay. I bet we'll win a Cleo!

People want to be communicated with in a real conversation.  Not force-fed some dumbed down pap.  Does ‘man up’ really make you want to drink Miller Lite?

Leave a Reply

